All posts tagged Turkmenistan


39 leaders, groups named as Predators of Freedom of Information in 2013 On World Press Freedom Day, Reporters Without Borders is releasing an updated list of 39 Predators of Freedom of Information ­– presidents, politicians, religious leaders, militias and criminal organizations that censor, imprison, kidnap, torture and kill journalists and other news providers. Powerful, dangerous and violent, these predators consider themselves above the law. “ These predators of freedom of information are responsible for the worst abuses against the news media and journalists, ” Reporters Without Borders secretary-general Christophe Deloire said

Continue Reading...

U.S. media on failing revenge of Washington bureaucracy at Broadcasting Board of Governors

BBG Watch Commentary When one hears of former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton's comment that the Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG) is "defunct" or the State Department's Office

Russian Service is not the only victim of management actions at RFE/RL

BBG Watch Commentary A commentary sent to BBG Watch by a journalist whose articles have been published on the Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (RFE/RL) English-language website points out

Reporter gets five years in Turkmenistan — CPJ

Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) -

New York, October 5, 2011 -- The Committee to Protect Journalists condemns the sentencing today of Dovletmurad Yazguliyev, a local correspondent

Turkmenistan – Open letter to President of the European Commission José Manuel Barroso

Reporters Sans Frontières (RSF) - Mr. José Manuel Barroso - President of the European Commission Paris, 14 January 2011 Dear President Barroso, Reporters Without Borders, an

Press Freedom Group Concerned over Europe, Welcomes U.S. Progress

The eighth annual Reporters Without Borders ranking of the state of media freedom in 175 nations and political entities shows a decline in some European countries and dramatic

Creative Commons License Original content is available under the terms of Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 License unless otherwise specified.